Opinion: Gaming is Better 5th Gen and on

SkywardCrowbar

Twintelle's loyal Husbando
So, I've been playing The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past for the past about 2 months. It's obviously considered one of the greatest games of all time, so naturally as a huge Zelda fan I was extremely excited to start playing it.

However, once I got past about the 2nd Temple, I started to notice something that has plagued my endeavors into gaming from the 8 & 16 bit eras; the gameplay is simply not very satisfying and the game is far too cryptic as far as letting the player know what to do!

There's a pair of complaints there so I'll break them down one at a time.

First off, the gameplay. There's elements of gen 4 & 5 gaming that are very satisfying from a gameplay perspective. Landing a perfect jump in Super Mario Bros., blasting enemies with the Master Sword from afar in A Link to the Past, doing anything successfully in a Mega Man game... However, I'm struck by the feeling that the more I play gen 4 & 5 games, the more I notice serious difficulty being injected into the games based on the controls. For instance: A Link to the Past in the Swamp Temple. The swimming controls are as the AVGN would put it, ASSY. There's routinely enemies in the water which you must navigate via swimming, and the only way back up onto dry land is via climbing ladders that are hanging into the water. I found it supremely frustrating trying to climb the ladders from the water while dodging enemies. The level of precision required to get on the ladders is absurd and doesn't add anything to the gameplay experience, it only annoys.

There's numerous other issues I've encountered along these lines in gen 4 & 5 games. That's not to say that more modern games don't ever have control issues; they can. It is simply to say that these issues occur with greater frequency in pre gen 6 games.

Now, onto the second problem, games being overly cryptic!